Hacker School banning “feigned surprise” is absolutely brilliant

“Feigned surprise” should be banned in any organization that purports to bestow knowledge and build confidence as it does the opposite in both.

Coffee Spoons of Code

[Since you might wonder while reading this piece what my relationship to Hacker School is: I have no relationship with Hacker School. It has been described to me, and I have devoured the blog. If I made a mistake, let me know.]

The biggest insight I’ve had as a programmer is just how often other programmers are portraying false confidence. My natural approach to problem-solving is Socratic, feeling out different ideas and taking small, well-supported steps. Compare and contrast that with making gigantic pronouncements full of bravado. Writing software is inherently an exercise in managing complexity, which is best done with caution.

The best developers I’ve worked with were willing to admit when they didn’t know something. Of course they could learn quickly. If you meet an arrogant developer who pretends to know everything, be careful. To them, their ego is more important than your software. An insecure person who…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

