Big Three-Oh

I turned 30 over the weekend, which ordinarily should be a very important event, aside from the fact that I completely forgot it was my birthday. I got a call early in the morning from my aunt in Sri Lanka and it took a few seconds for me to grasp she was wishing me a happy birthday. This is the fourth time it’s happened in my life.

My age is finally starting to catch up to my gray hairs and forehead lines. It’s all downhill from here, but it’s a good thing I already had my midlife crisis last year. That sort of thing really puts a monkey wrench in your plans. Or lack thereof.

I didn’t have a party and only a few friends knew, but my mom got me something nice.

Now I know where I get my sense of humor


This is the sort of thing she does when she knows it’s time to cheer me up. And it worked!

There’s a whole bunch of stuff I wanted to catch up to, but with all the Sandy stuff happening lately and the fact that I couldn’t use the subway for almost two weeks, I’ve been inundated with work that had to be completed at home. Between two dozen calls to San Francisco and a bazillion emails to respond to, I’m almost glad I kept the Blackberry for a second line… almost.

I’ll do a proper update when I get the chance.

5 thoughts on “Big Three-Oh

  1. this is the best post in the past months you have written, at least to me :D happy belated 30! congrats, i heard life would just start from 30 :)

Leave a Reply

