Head still attached to body. I double-checked

Well, it’s past 3:00AM on Tuesday and looks like the worst of Sandy is over for us (well, at least in my neck of the woods). The wind is still present and gusting, but no where near at the same intensity as before. I figure gusts are around 20 – 30mph now and I can actually stand up on the balcony when this was impossible previously. The rain has also stopped, though I don’t know for how long.

I have a friend who lives further South closer to New York City (around 10 minutes by train, I’m 25) who I haven’t been able to reach yet, but I’m reasonably confident he’s still alive. Or else, I would have seen Voldemort’s Dark Mark in the sky by now.

Damage total

I lost an old laptop that I had forgotten to unplug. Its battery was long dead and was still running off of plugged power and acted as a small server. The reapeated flickering lights had probably done it in. The fridge, or at the least, the compressor motor may need replacing since it had cut out several times as well. There are no cracks on the windows though, which surpised me since they were billowing with the wind.

My tomato plant is a bit worse for wear, but I did take it in yesterday before the wind picked up too much. Still, it looks like that was a little too late.

Kinda hard to see since it’s dark, but it does look like a mangled Halloween decoration

Lights across the street are still out and the grounds just a bit away from the base of the building is basically a lake. A few broken branches on the road (and one on the balcony; somehow one made it up here), but no fallen trees as far as I can see. We’re lucky that the building is on a bit of a hill… or unlucky as the case may be, since that also meant higher winds.

Lots of toppled over garbage cans and debris on the street.

I think our local grocery shops may open since they’re run by local folks who don’t have to travel far. Can’t imagine any of the shelves being fully stocked though. And I don’t see any deliveries making it in for a couple of days. Good thing, I stocked up on water and coffee beforehand.

Our building still has steady water pressure and the water itself looks clean. I’ve seen reports on TV that some places in Westchester lost pumps so there’s no water or power.

Still hearing a few police/ambulance sirens in the background, but at least the car alarms have stopped.

Latest view outside the window in the back of the building is a little clearer, but still very, very dark since a lot of lights are still out.

I could have sworn there was a parking lot down there and more lights.

9 thoughts on “Head still attached to body. I double-checked

    • Oh yes.

      I’m not sure how I’d be getting back to work any time soon since trains are still down. Looks like we’ll probably go back to normal sometime Thursday at the earliest.

      • No trust me, maybe some semblance of normal, but full normal will not be this week. Maybe not next week… Severe subway damage.

      • I know. And when all is said and done…, just wait till next year when it happens all over again! Time to seriously consider large scale social change.

  1. Pingback: So, where was I? | This page intentionally left ugly

Leave a Reply

