Starting to regret living in a highrise

Here in New York, my windows are shaking like crazy, I can hear the wind loudly even in the bathroom and it’s impossible to stand upright in the balcony without being blown off since I’m two floors down from the top. And this is supposed to get worse.

I can’t imagine having power for much longer, but in the off chance we do lose electricty, it will likely be more than a week before we get it back. No one (in their right minds) is out in the street except for the odd reporter/cameraman. I can also hear half the cars in the parking lot since their alarms have go off.

I’m about 25 minutes by train from New York City, although all trains have obviously stopped running including buses. I’ll keep my Twitter up to date if something changes or I’ll see you in a week.

Edit 6:30PM

Power flicked a bit, but didn’t lose it yet.

I’ve charged the laptop as a battery backup to keep the phone going. If we lose power, I’ll use it to charge the phone. I figure 5 days standby if we do lose power.

Update 12:50AM

Wind’s died down a bit, but the gusting continues. My windows aren’t rattling as violently as before, but I’m still worried they might blow (I’m almost 100ft from the ground). We never did lose power, but according to Channel 7, a lot of people in Westchester did. I believe them since across the street, it’s almost black.

You may see on the top left under the amber lights, it’s basically a pool out there. Our parking lot is a bit off the ground, but I’m sure it’ll be flooded before the night’s over.

We normally have  a lot more lights out there.

I had disconnected my router and other electronic stuff since I was worried they might be damaged by the constantly flickering lights. Since that’s stopped now, I’ve reconnected them. But I’m pretty sure I’ll need to buy a new fridge after this.

6 thoughts on “Starting to regret living in a highrise

Leave a Reply

