Thoughts

Since this is better than having a room full of people looking at you like “he’s talking to himself… weird!”

I miss my balcony, damn it!

My idea of an ideal afternoon would be sitting by the window on a recliner on a cool, rainy afternoon, as the Sun goes down, sipping hot chocolate or coffee while staring out at the treeline from my apartment.

Cue the old timey music.

While there was plenty of rain in New York lately, I never got to enjoy any of it while there was still some light outside. Either I was asleep because I came home early in the morning or it’s already night. It’s been a full two weeks since I last set foot on the balcony and I’m starting to suffer from withdrawal symptoms.

Or it could just be gas.

Note to self: Go to work sober

Giving a presentation while on allergy meds is a good way to make people believe you have the linguistic dexterity of a lobotomized gorilla; after it’s been beaten even more senseless with a shovel.

I used to be able to take Benadryl or any other diphenhydramine and go the whole day without it adversely affecting my work. While my copious coffee intake (which I have since severely curtailed) may have helped a bit, I’ve always been able to suppress the extreme drowsiness, mild dizziness and confusion on my own. That is, until Wednesday.

This may also be a sign that I’m just getting older.

Talking to people who, for all intents and purposes, think you’re about to teach them Sanskrit in mime is quite a bit harder when your situational awareness is being slowly garroted and your eyelids suddenly acquire the weight of depleted Uranium.

Also, mime is not art.

Speech is like a bonsai

Cogency and lucidity require careful cultivation and pruning, especially when you don’t have a particularly tech savvy crowd as your audience and you’re giving them a security overview. The biggest problem seems to be that a lot of people still assume their real world common sense doesn’t apply in the virtual when the opposite is true. I have to make them trust their own judgement and I have to make them feel at ease with technology.

This is especially true of phishing scams.

If some random guy on the street hands you a letter saying your bank account will be closed soon and the only way to stop it would be to provide your personal information, would you :

a) Call the bank yourself and verify this.
b) Give him the personal information.
c) Dance a jig.
d) Throw poo at him.

I remember early in school a teacher saying that in most multiple choice questions, you can usually eliminate two of the answers almost immediately. Then you can take your time thinking about the remaining two.

I now carry a spare roll of Angel Soft brand toilet paper in case I meet the random bank guy.

It sure put a smile on me!

The Benadryl is starting to wear off so it’s about time for another dose.

I’m going on vacation on Friday after much prodding by my family. I think it’s well overdue.

3 thoughts on “Thoughts

  1. Thanks guys!

    Sadly, I’ve tried Claritin and Allegra (basically Fexofnadine), but they don’t seem to work on me at all :(
    So far the only thing that works is the regular Benadryl. The non-drowsy version doesn’t seem to work either. It’s a curse!

    I’m leaving for Sri Lanka on Friday. I figured it’s been a year: Might as well absorb what I couldn’t the last time.

Leave a Reply

