The tomato experiment

Since February of this year, I’ve been running a little experiment blasting hardcore rock, thrash and death metal at my tomato plants. I was slowly increasing the intensity of the music (and I realize for some people “music” isn’t an appropriate descriptor for death metal) and I must say the results have been quite stunning.

This will be after two and half months of solid hardcore music in a week.

Getting ready for plucking soon!

I haven’t been blasting music all day and night, because I’m can’t be home all the time and I don’t want to turn my good neighbors into sworn enemies. Also the volume has been constantly in the medium-low range.

I seemed to have reached a Golidlocks zone with Kataklysm and Samael (couldn’t play Meshuggah without upsetting the neighbors) and other death/hardcore bands didn’t seem to make too much of a difference from these two.

The next season I’m going to try classical to see if it makes a difference.

One thought on “The tomato experiment

Leave a Reply

