Lost and Found Code: Dianemo P2P

No, that really is the correct spelling….

Tonight’s update is actually coming to from a hospital bed, but that’s a whole ‘nother story.

I was rummaging through an old computer the other day and came across this project (after installing 63 XP updates because it was in storage). It’s been ages since I’ve last fired it up let alone browsed the source code for this project.  I thought it was a very good starter project and, even with a few glitches, was still usable and had given me some good ideas. Mind you, it was written in .Net 1.1 considering the age (folder last modified Thursday, ‎August ‎14, ‎2003).

I can’t remember who the author was and the original download file which may have had the author’s info and license is lost (found the zip, but still no author info) and I’m fairly sure the site where it was hosted doesn’t exist any more because Google couldn’t find it either. So if you happen to come across this post and is the author or know the author, plase let me know and I’ll add the credit.

… On a side note, I wonder how many other such projects disappear completely every day. And speaking of long lost, remember the good old days when total awesome (sprinkled among totally rank) Photoshop and creative web design sites a la Halovison, Eight83 and Floodgear were dime a dozen? Ah… the first decade of the 21st century; But I digress…

Here’s the download file for the source and project. Let me know if the link stops working. You may need to do some conversions to get it to run.

3 thoughts on “Lost and Found Code: Dianemo P2P

    • Ah, yes. I’m afraid so ;)

      Don’t worry, I’m home now. Let’s just say I had a bad case of the seasonal cooties and, just my luck, my immune system has the consistency of a sieve.

Leave a Reply

