How to cure Hoarding in one easy step

This seems to quite a popular subject on documentary channels these days. There’s “Hoarding: Buried alive” on TLC and “Hoarders” on A&E etc…

What really struck me is how hoarding is made to be more of a convoluted concept than it needs to be and those who engage in this behaviour is somehow ill or have a dysfunction contributing to it. I’m not a psychologist, but I’m a bit dubious about claims that this is some sort of illness or disorder in every case though I’m sure there are some abnormalities in some people, that are genuinely the cause of this.

Many of these people are not poor. In fact, in a lot of these cases, the person involved is outwardly successful, has a decent income and their houses are quite large (well, at least larger than the place I’m hoping to buy). Any financial burden present is usually self-imposed by their “condition”. One consistent observation I’ve made about these people is a degree of selfishness where their behaviour is often filtered through a convenient sociological myopia.

There may have been some overriding psychological cause that triggered the hoarding behaviour, but treatment doesn’t need to involve months or weeks of possibly painful detachment to one’s personal possessions. The solution need not be the dreaded dump truck, but all it should take is just one little personal journey.

The overriding reason to not get rid of a lot of these possessions is that it’s a “waste” to get rid of it. Well then don’t just get rid of it, give it away. There are thousands of people who can use and enjoy what you already don’t, and likely never will, due to your own surroundings.

If you must get things, then don’t bring them to the house or storage unit. Bring them immediately to those who needed it and give it away. You’ll feel a thousand times better than simply using these objects to clutter your own abode.

4 thoughts on “How to cure Hoarding in one easy step

  1. You have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about. I’m living with a hoarderer, I can assure you it’s close to hell for both parties. He is stealing my living space, my social life, I can’t engage in things I enjoy doing due to all the clutter, and all this to the extend that I’m on the verge of leaving him, although I love him. The condition is such that they’re absolutely unable to change their behaviour without outside help. And even if help and support is provided, things hardly get any better. Believe me, I’ve tried everything within my abilities to help him.

    As a previous commenter stated,please do some (serious) research before you publish such nonsense,or simply stick to something you have at least some knowledge of.

    • I publish whatever I please on my blog, thanks. You’re free to do the same.

      Denial seems to be the only common thread in many of these cases; and yes, I too have lived with a hoarder and her relatives, some of whom have also hoarded in the past, but have received the help they needed.

Comments are closed.