Photo Gallery / Picture viewer doesn’t work on the Desktop

This annoying little problem started quite recently. Probably due to some unknown update that installed itself overnight. Double-clicking on any image from PNG to GIF gives no results whatsoever. The photo gallery doesn’t even start.

The solution is to get rid of all the web links / URL shortcuts on the desktop (delete them or move them to a folder) and viola! You can double-click on images again.

I have no idea why this started this week. I’ve never run into anything similar with XP.

P.S.

I’m really buried in a project lately, which is why I haven’t been posting very much. But I have a new set of Sites and Movies of the week coming up.

4 thoughts on “Photo Gallery / Picture viewer doesn’t work on the Desktop

  1. Thanks for posting this. I was just a bit annoyed when I couldn’t open something from the desktop so I began ripping apart the registry. Sure enough, I dumped my 2 web page shortcuts into a folder and voila!… it works again.

    • You’re welcome! Glad it helped.

      I didn’t understand at all what was going on when this first happened. It seemed completely out of the blue. I thought maybe I just had too much junk on the desktop so I started cleaning up a bit. Lo and behold right after I cleaned up the shortcuts, double-clicking worked again.

  2. ow thanks!!!
    Had this exact problem and I tried deleting the most recent url link and it worked! I left the rest links intacted .
    The shortcut I deleted was for youtube making new account page.

Leave a Reply

