eksith:

This is the most eloquent elaboration of the horrors taking place in the North Carolina school system. I hope someone of influence will read this and actually do something rather than play more lip-service.

Originally posted on Diane Ravitch's blog:

A letter from a disgusted teacher:

I QUIT

Kris L. Nielsen
Monroe, NC 28110

Union County Public Schools
Human Resources Department
400 North Church Street
Monroe, NC 28112

October 25, 2012

To All it May Concern:

I’m doing something I thought I would never do—something that will make me a statistic and a caricature of the times. Some will support me, some will shake their heads and smirk condescendingly—and others will try to convince me that I’m part of the problem. Perhaps they’re right, but I don’t think so. All I know is that I’ve hit a wall, and in order to preserve my sanity, my family, and the forward movement of our lives, I have no other choice.

Before I go too much into my choice, I must say that I have the advantages and disadvantages of differentiated experience under my belt. I have seen the other side, where…

View original 1,450 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. I don’t know if it’s the availability bias that the Internet affords us, or if things really are going downhill (likely a combination of both), but I’ve been seeing more and more stories like this. Anytime there’s a downturn, education is always the first thing on the chopping block. Which makes absolutely no sense if you think about it for more than 0 seconds.

    In cities like my hometown of Atlanta–where the inner city public education is horrific–the big thing on the city’s radar right now is to finalize a deal to build a new football stadium to replace the current one that works just fine. I think that explains everything, honestly.

    • It’s always a tricky balance between extracurricular activities and school and while sports are a necessary part of school life, its status as a de-facto recreational activity seems lost on city authorities.

      I can let a new stadium go if it adds value to the surrounding area and stimulate the local economy, but if one’s already present…

      It’s like they forget, education is an investment. Like stocks in futures, except this has profound implications to the nation at large.

Leave a Reply

