“Blogosphere”

The last bastion of originality on the Internet!

iPhone1

iPhone2

iPhone3

iPhone4

iPhone5

iPhone6

iPhone7

iPhone8

iPhone9

iPhone10

iPhone11

iPhone12

iPhone13

iPhone14

iPhone15

iPhone16

iPhone17

iPhone18

iPhone19

iPhone20

iPhone21

iPhone22

iPhone23

iPhone24

iPhone25

I wish it ended there, but it goes on and on…
Mind you, this is only on one topic, the “iPhone SDK”. And most of the above was in the space of one day and a half (March 6th – 7th) and on one site (wordpress.com). Can you imagine the rest of the Internet?

Only a few of these blogs actually went to the trouble of writing something new about what they saw. The rest are direct ripoffs from each other, duplicated info from more popular blogs or, worse yet, are no-content blogs with links to other blogs which in turn have no real content in them.

4 thoughts on ““Blogosphere”

  1. To be honest, it is tricky to add something new to a story that is doing the rounds. I always try to add my own personal slant/opinion along with all the information I can find. If I cannot add anything to a particular story, I don’t post anything.

    I completely agree, the worst thing that any blogger can do is just copy paste someone else’s content.

  2. Thanks for the comment.

    I really, really, really hope you didn’t take any offense.
    It’s not my intent to poke fun at individual bloggers at all!

    Actually I do enjoy reading your blog, since you actually put thought into your writing. Sadly, this isn’t always the case with blogs.

    I’m just trying to point out a trend that seems to follow a “trickle down” effect where one story is reiterated countless times with each author seemingly writing the same story.

  3. No offense at all :) Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I do completely agree, nothing irks me more than seeing my work copied and pasted in its entirety to some aggregating blog that exists solely for the purpose of generating google ad revenue. Of course, partial quotes with trackbacks are perfectly ok providing it is expanded on, even if the blogger simply adds their own views on the subject.

    Your post was really effective and is representative of what happens in the blogosphere, however it is not always a bad thing. For example, CES over in the States is frequently so over covered, a lot of journalists (and arm-chair journalists like bloggers) find it more useful to analyse what comes out from those that do go rather than attend. This can still generate useful discussion in some cases. :)

  4. Well that’s a relief! ;)

    I see what you mean about analysis. It does seem like an effective way to cross-sample the general consensus up to and following any major event as well as take a peek at what went on courtesy of whoever attended…

    However, there’s another fear. I think this is slowly starting to replace legitamet journalism.

    Do I expect everyone with a blog to write Pulitzer calibre articles?
    Of course not. But there’s no heart in many of these writeups. It’s like they didn’t even try. It’s just old-media tomfoolery carried over to the digital age.

    Again, the temptation to just say “Wow, check this out”, or “I’m really excited” and leave it at that is just too strong when you’re just a few keystrokes and a mouse-click away from the biggest out-door stage on Earth.

    Honestly, I don’t even mind people posting one liners and linking them elsewhere. Provided it doesn’t happen at the alarming frequency that it does today.

Leave a Reply

